INTERVENTIONALCOMPLETEDISRCTN38250575
A Double Blind, Randomised, Placebo Controlled Parallel Group Study of Cannabis Based Medicine Extract (CBME), in the Treatment of Peripheral Neuropathic Pain Characterised by Allodynia.
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy of Sativex® compared with placebo in relieving peripheral neuropathic pain associated with allodynia.
Locally preserved from ISRCTN registryOpen ISRCTN registry↗last source update 2023-04-12
What this record can show
Registry results are available
Registry submitter results are candidate evidence, not independent verification.
Registry facts
Study at a glance
- Phase
- PHASE3
- Enrollment
- 125 (ACTUAL)
- Start date
- 2002-05
- Sponsor
- GW Pharma Ltd (UK)
- Design
- Not reported
- Locations
- 2
- Results record
- Present in registry snapshot
This was a six week, multicentre, double blind, randomised, placebo controlled parallel group study to evaluate the efficacy of Sativex®. Subjects with peripheral neuropathic pain characterised by allodynia, were screened to determine eligibility and entered a seven day baseline period. Subjects then returned to the centre for randomisation and dose introduction, and received either placebo or Sativex in a double blind manner for five weeks, with a follow up visit 7 to 10 days after the end of the treatment period. The primary efficacy measure was the difference in pain severity at the end of treatment, measured using a peripheral neuropathic pain 0 to 10 numerical rating scale.
PainPeripheral NeuropathyPainPeripheral Neuropathy
Linked local records
Related local records
Local links use governed condition terms or exact source-reported intervention names. They are navigation candidates, not efficacy claims.
Conditions
No published condition report matched.
Cannabinoids and active compounds
Medicines
No exact medicine-name link was found.
Interventions
What was registered
DrugTetrahydrocannabinol (THC), cannabidiol (CBD)
THC:CBD, 1:1 and placebo
Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), cannabidiol (CBD) Source-reported results
Results posted to the registry
0 outcomesRegistry submitter results are candidate evidence, not independent verification.
- Primary outcomes
- 0
- Secondary outcomes
- 0
- Statistical analyses
- 0
- Adverse-event terms
- 0
Eligibility
Population and criteria
- Sex
- All
- Minimum age
- 18 Years
- Maximum age
- Not reported
- Healthy volunteers
- Not reported
Eligibility criteria
- 1. Patient or legal representative is willing and able to give informed consent for participation in the study (if the patient is unable to read or to sign the document, consent procedures as detailed in the Declaration of Helsinki must be followed) 2. Male or Female, aged 18 years or above 3. Chronic peripheral neuropathic pain of at least 6 months duration 4. Presence of mechanical allodynia within the territory of the affected nerve(s) 5. Evidence of sensory change in the affected nerve by simple clinical tests 6. Pain with a severity score of 4 or more on at least 4 completed BS-11 scores in the baseline week 7. Stable dose of current analgesic medication for at least 2 weeks prior to study entry 8. Female patients of child bearing potential and male patients whose partner is of child bearing potential are willing to ensure that they or their partner use effective contraception during the study and for 3 months thereafter 9. Willing for his or her names to be notified to the Home Office for participation in this study 10. Willing to allow his or her General Practitioner and Consultant, if appropriate, to be notified of participation in the study 11. No cannabinoid use (cannabis, Marinolâ or Nabilone) at least 7 days before Visit 1 and willing to abstain from any use of cannabis during the study 12. Able (in the Investigators opinion), and willing to comply with all study requirements 1. History of schizophrenia, other psychotic illness, severe personality disorder or other significant psychiatric disorder other than depression associated with their underlying condition 2. Concomitant severe non-neuropathic pain or the presence of cancer related neuropathic pain or neuropathic pain resulting from diabetes mellitus 3. Known history of alcohol or substance abuse 4. Severe cardiovascular disorder, such as ischaemic heart disease, arrhythmias (other than well controlled atrial fibrillation), poorly controlled hypertension or severe heart failure 5. History of epilepsy 6. Female patient who is pregnant, lactating or planning pregnancy during the course of the study 7. Male patient who is currently receiving and unwilling to stop sildenafil (Viagra®) and unwilling to stop for the duration of the study 8. Regular levodopa therapy within 7 days of study entry 9. Significant renal or hepatic impairment 10. Known or suspected hypersensitivity to cannabinoids 11. Scheduled elective surgery or other procedures requiring general anaesthesia during the study 12. Terminal illness 13. Any other significant disease or disorder which, in the opinion of the Investigator, may either put the patient at risk because of participation in the study, or may influence the result of the study, or the patients ability to participate in the study 14. Travel outside the UK planned during the study 15. Donation of blood during the study 16. Patients who have participated in another research study in the past 12 weeks 17. Patients previously randomised into this study
primary outcomes
primary measures
Efficacy in relieving peripheral neuropathic pain after 5 weeks of treatment
secondary outcomes
secondary measures
1. Qualitative aspects of pain as reported the Neuropathic Pain Scale (NPS) 2. The physical and psychological effects of pain using measures of sleep disturbance, the Pain Disability Index (PDI) and General Health Questionnaire (GHQ-12) 3. Patients cognitive function using the Brief Repeatable Battery of Neuropsychological tests (BRB-N) 4. Patient perception of change in allodynia and pain on movement after 5 weeks of treatment 5. Tolerability of CBME using the adverse event profile, electrocardiogram (ECG), clinical laboratory tests and vital signs
Publications
Locally readable linked articles
0No exact PMID-linked public article is currently readable locally.
Snapshot provenance
- Snapshot
- 4d0b3357-5483-4622-adde-fa2b9b8af6d2
- Retrieved
- 24/09/2026, 15:04:22
- SHA-256
- b5bbc13fa5b9d9c456561fe4eb0690832573a8cec5f8027a1f79d0b41d56ae4d